Vulvar Vestibulitis Support Network

the chronicle of broken Vaginas, what we've done to try and fix them, and how we plan to save the World

Dietary Triggers? February 11, 2008

Filed under: Diet/Nutrition,health,vulvar vestibulitis — Katie E @ 3:34 am

Continuing the conversation from last week’s support group, has anyone found any successes with changing dietary stuff?

One thing also to consider:
I’ve been reading a book about migraines, of which I suffer from occaisionally. One of the steps to help managing or eliminating migraines is to find your environmental and dietary triggers. This can be done by keeping a log. When you have a flare up, think of what you ate/did in the past 24 hours that might have contributed to it. Write it down and keep notes.

You can also test certain items. If you eliminate caffeine from your diet for a month, and then you have some caffeine, and a flare up follows, it’s very likely caffeine is a trigger for your vvs.

You can definitely take it to the extreme with figuring things out, but I think the headache book and method might be very applicable to start finding out potential causes. Obviously it’s going to be different for everyone. Imagine though if you could eliminate any food triggers for your vvs. Then you wouldn’t have to worry about it food at all in relation to your pain. One piece of the puzzle solved!

 

3 Responses to “Dietary Triggers?”

  1. Christina Says:

    Hi there,
    I’m new to this website and haven’t found my way around the whole thing yet, so sorry if the following info is old news. But I have been living with vuluar vestibulitis for….well forever really. I have been on a Low Oxalate Diet for about 1.5 years and it absolutely, 100%, no doubt about it, makes a huge difference in my pain level. You can check out http://www.vulvarpainfoundation.org/ for more info. It took a while for me to learn the diet, and more importantly stick to it because I didn’t really believe that it was working at first, but now that I do that, along with taking Calcium citrate (without vit D), in addition to other treatments I am most often pain-free….with occasional bumps in the road 🙂

  2. Sara Says:

    I have no idea whether this is significant or not, since my pain eventually came back in full force… but the ONLY time I have ever been almost 90% pain free was in the first few months after I found out that I had Celiac Disease and quit eating gluten. At the time, I thought OH MY GOODNESS, I’m cured! It was wonderful. Then the pain started coming back a few months later. I still have no idea if these two things were related or not, but it just seemed very coincidental. I just sooo wish the pain hadn’t come back, it was awesome to feel almost “normal” for those few months.

  3. Emily Varnon Says:

    I had been suffering from vulvadynia and then vestibulitis for at least 4-5 years. I had used prescribed steroid creams, A&D ointment, everything and anything the doctor suggested. Sex was painful and I bled every time from the ulceration. I had also had many of the symptoms of Lupus and had been tested by doctors three times but the tests came back negative. I felt like my body was turning against me.
    Since I had gained weight over the last 5 years, I decided to finally do something about it. I went on the HCG diet with Metabolic Weight Loss and lost 35 lbs, but wasn’t sure how I was going to keep the program up (cost and limited foods). I started reading the book “The Primal Blueprint” and began changing my life patterns to be more natural to our beginnings. This program is similar in many respects to the diet I had been on but was more of a lifestyle change. In both diets, you cut out any grains and refined sugars, and processed meats.
    A couple of weeks ago, I noted that sex didn’t hurt!! I hadn’t done anything to to treat the vestibulitis (no creams, pills, etc). However, it appears to have gone away!! I can only attribute it to the change in diet – the lack of “inflammatory” foods – grains, refined sugars, beans, etc. I have now started researching more into the inflammation characteristics of foods. It is so wonderful to be pain free!!


Leave a Reply

